commissioner from the respective provinces and the surveyor general of Canada, are at present the only commissions concerned with boundaries between provinces. The latter was established in 1974 by federal and provincial Alberta-British Columbia boundary acts to deal with resurveys of the sinuous boundary, the settlement of problems or disputes, and the establishment, restoration and maintenance of survey monuments. However, there are also boundary commissions responsible for the borders between Manitoba and the Northwest Territories; Saskatchewan and the Northwest Territories; Alberta and the Northwest Territories; and British Columbia, the Yukon Territory and the Northwest Territories. All report to Parliament through the minister of energy, mines and resources.

Law Reform Commission of Canada. This commission was established (RSC 1970, c.23, 1st Supp.) as a permanent body to study and keep the laws of Canada under continuing and systematic review. The commission makes recommendations for the improvement, modernization and reform of federal laws including, without limiting the generality of the foregoing: the removal of anachronisms and anomalies in the law; the reflection in and by the law of the distinctive concepts and institutions of the common law and civil law legal systems in Canada, and the reconciliation of differences and discrepancies in the expression and application of the law arising out of differences in those concepts and institutions; the elimination of obsolete laws; and the development of new approaches to and new concepts of the law in keeping with and responsive to the changing needs of Canadian society and its individual members. The commission reports to Parliament through the minister of justice.

Library of Parliament. This library was established by an act in relation to the Library of Parliament (SC c.21) now the Library of Parliament Act (RSC 1970, c.L-7). The library had been formed initially by the amalgamation of the legislative libraries of Upper and Lower Canada following their unification as the Province of Canada in 1841. The library is designated as a department within the meaning and purpose of the Financial Administration Act, the parliamentary librarian holding the rank of deputy minister. The parliamentary and the associate parliamentary librarians are appointed by the Governor-in-Council. The parliamentary librarian under the speaker of the Senate and the speaker of the House of Commons, assisted by a joint committee appointed by the two houses, is responsible for the control and management of the library including the Confederation Branch Library, the parliamentary reading room and the Confederation Building reading room. Persons entitled to borrow books from the Library of Parliament are the Governor General, members of the Privy Council, members of the Senate and the House of Commons, officers of the two houses, judges of the Supreme Court of Canada and the Federal Court of Canada, and members of the Parliamentary Press Gallery. The library serves the Senate and the Commons in both a reference and a research capacity, and is responsible for all books, paintings, maps, and other library effects in the joint possession of the Senate and the Commons. In addition the library indexes Senate committee minutes of proceedings and reports, provides an extensive clipping service to Parliament and is also the public's information centre for parliamentary information. Its collection is accessible to other libraries through interlibrary loan.

Loto Canada Inc. (Loto Canada). Established June 29, 1976 by Appropriation Act No. 4, 1976 (SC 1974-75-76, c.103) Loto Canada is a Crown corporation which began operation in September 1976 on the termination of the Olympic lottery. It manages and conducts a lottery, primarily to assist, until the end of 1979, in financing the deficits of the 1976 Olympics at Montreal and the 1978 Commonwealth Games at Edmonton. A small portion of the net revenue is divided among the provinces (12.5%) and the federal government (5%). The corporation consists of a board of directors with up to seven members representing all regions of Canada. Its head office is at Ottawa. The corporation reports to Parliament through the minister of state for fitness and amateur sport.

Machinery and Equipment Advisory Board. This board, established in 1968, is responsible for considering applications for remission of duty on certain machinery and equipment and advising the minister of industry, trade and commerce as to the eligibility of such machinery for remissions. The board is composed of a chairman and the deputy ministers of industry, trade and commerce, finance and national revenue. It is assisted by branches of the industry department concerned with individual industries, including machinery manufacturing. The objective of the machinery program is to increase efficiency in Canadian industry by enabling machinery users to acquire advanced equipment at the lowest possible cost while affording tariff protection on machinery produced in Canada.

Maritime Pollution Claims Fund. Under the Canada Shipping Act (SC 1971, c.27), a strict liability is created on the part of a shipowner discharging oil from a ship in Canadian waters without need to prove fault or negligence; this liability covers the cost of remedial action if authorized by the Governor-in-Council, preventive action by the minister of transport and damages suffered by any person. Proceedings are taken against the shipowner and served on the administrator of the fund to make him a party to the litigation; upon failure to recover from the shipowner, the administrator is to the claimant in the position of a guarantor or unsatisfied judgment fund. If the ship cannot be identified, suit may be taken against the administrator. There is also a special claim made directly to the administrator by fishermen suffering a loss